Story of Tissa Thera (I:3)

RETALIATION DOES NOT LEAD TO PEACE

3. “He abused me, he beat me, he defeated me, he robbed me”, in those who harbour such thoughts hatred is not appeased. 3.

4. “He abused me, he beat me, he defeated me, he robbed me”, in those who do not harbour such thoughts hatred is appeased. 7 4.

Story

The Venerable Tissa, proud of being a cousin of the Buddha, did not pay due respect to the senior monks. When they resented his improper conduct, he took offence and, threatening them, went up to the Buddha and made a complaint. The Buddha, who understood the position, advised him to apologize, but the Venerable Tissa was obstinate. The Buddha then related a story to show that Tissa had done likewise in a previous birth. Later, the Venerable Tissa was compelled to seek pardon from the senior monks.

Source:

http://www.metta.lk/english/Narada/01-Yamaka%20Vagga.htm

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

